2016 Percival Property Northern Division Championships Results

THE Port Macquarie Cycle Club (PMCC) hosted the Percival Property Northern Division Championships over the weekend.  There was a high level of competition across all age groups with riders from under nine to over 70 competing.

A field of over 100 riders descended on Port Macquarie from Coffs Harbour, Inverell, Grafton, Armidale as well as Taree, Sydney and Newcastle to take part in this event. This year’s champions are:

Road Race Criterium
Men Women Men Women
Hand Cyclists Hank Duchateau Hank Duchateau
Under 9 Charlie Hamerlok
Under 11 Noah de Wright
Under 13 Anton Lupinski Kalani McClennon Asher Fawle
Under 15 Boyd Bann-Murray Miren Davies Miren Davies
Under 17 Will McClennon Joe Begbie
Under 19 Brandon Conway Brandon Conway
Under 23
Elite Ashley Smith Ashley Smith
M1 (30-34) Matthew Everett Matthew Everett
M2 (35-39) Ashley Stapley Ashley Stapley
M3 (40-44) Phil Almond Deborah Hennessey
M4 (45-49) Bryan Crispin Dion Wilkes
M5 (50-54) Mark Jeffery Greg Linsdell
M6 (55-59) Alistair Lane Alistair Lane
M7 (60-64) Dave Menzies Jo Wauch Dave Menzies Jo Wauch
M8 (65-69) Rick Wilson

Although it has a rich history, the championship had not been held for several years. There was fierce racing in every event with riders racing for prize money and the title of Northern Division Champion.

Port Macquarie-Hastings Mayor Peter Besseling and MP Leslie Williams were in attendance, making presentations to athletes and taking a tour of facilities, which include an enclosed road circuit and club house.

Club stalwart and Life Member John Leigh, who raced across regional NSW decades ago, said it was great to see this competition reinvigorated with such a strong field.

“This will be bigger and better again next year once the word gets out on how well this weekend has been run,” he said.

PMCC certainly proved their capacity to host a major event and view the success of this event as a stepping-stone to establishing Port Macquarie as the cycling hub of Northern NSW.

“Port is perfectly positioned to serve the interests of cyclists from Newcastle to the Queensland border,” Club President Greg Linsdell said.  “Having a banked velodrome at Port Macquarie is crucial if we are going to see young riders from this region compete in track events at future Commonwealth and Olympic Games.

“Velodromes are great for young riders, the events are short, lots of fun and terrific for parents to watch.” There is renewed interest in developing a velodrome at the club’s Burrawan Forest Drive precinct

Linsdell placed first in the M5 division criterium with Mark Jeffrey of Tamworth taking out the road race. In some other results, Miren Davies won the under-15s division for both the road race and the criterium while Brandon Conway claimed the under-19s division, also in each section.

Ashley Smith took out the Elite category. The Club wished to thank Joan Hawes and an army of club volunteers, as well as Charles Sturt University students providing First Aid, Mackillop College students providing catering.

Crucial to the success of this event was Percival Property as major sponsor and many local businesses who provided support.

Port Macquarie Hastings Council also supported the Championships through the Event Sponsorship Program.

(Story reproduced from Port News 22/08/16. http://www.portnews.com.au/story/4111507/cyclists-flock-to-compete/)